kapehan sa NCCC

The Mines and Geosciences Bureau, Regional Office No. XI, issued a Cease and Desist Order of the underground mining operation within Australia Tunnel/Kalayaan Mining Cooperative particularly at Level 570 and 568 masl areas and nearby working areas located at purok 3, Mt. Diwata, Monkayo, Compostela Valley Province on March 4, 2016.

The Cease and Desist Order was an offshoot of the Information received by the Mines and Geosciences Bureau Regional Office No. XI from Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Officer of PENRO-LGU Compostela Valley Province that on February 27, 2016 at around 8:30 in the evening, a flashflood incident occurred in Australia Tunnel/Kalayaan Mining Cooperative located at Purok 3, Brgy. Mt. Diwata, Monkayo, Compostela Valley Province.

Technical personnel of this Office sent to the accident area confirmed that the flashflood incident occurred due to the collapse of the old and abandoned working area or destino where accumulated or impounded underground water and other debris materials were present during their investigation conducted on March 1-3, 2016. It resulted to three (3) missing and fatality of four (4) persons, while six (6) others were rescued. A post disaster assessment will be done to see to it that similar situations will not happen again.

The Philippine National Police (PNP) Provincial Director of Compostela Valley Province; Chief of Police, Municipality of Monkayo; Provincial Governor of Compostela Valley Province; Municipal mayor of Monkayo; and the Punong Barangay of Brgy. Mt. Diwata is hereby deputized to help enforce the said Order.