The Mines and Geosciences Bureau RXI conducted information, education and communication activity at the Conference Rm. of Brgy. Napnapan, Pantukan, Compostela Valley Province.

Barangay Napnapan is known for its areas where small-scale mining operations are rampant  but without the necessary permits. Napnapan has three declared Peoples’ Small-Scale Mining Areas (PSSMA), namely: Biasong Small-Scale Miners Cooperative (81 has.) and Boringot Small-Scale Miners Cooperative (81 has.) in Sitio Boringot and Diat Small-Scale Miners Cooperative (81 has.)  in Sitio Diat, brgy. Napnapan.

The activity was attended by various small-scale mining cooperatives with on-going small-scale mining contract applications pending approval at the Provincial Mining Regulatory Board (PMRB)-COMVAL. The activity covered topics: Republic Act 7076 also knows as the Small-Scale Mining Act which highlights the declaration of a Minahang Bayan or Peoples Small-scale Mining Area (PSSMA), awarding of Small-Scale Mining Contracts (SSMC) and Mineral Processing License.